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DEFINITIONS

Offenses Requiring Registration - All offenders convicted, confined, or under community supervision on or
after July 1, 1994, for the following offenses must register and re-register in the Virginia State Police Sex Offender
and Crimes Against Minors Registry.

Offenses Requiring Re-Registration Every 90 days:

Sexually Violent Offense - a violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-48(ii)(iii) Abduction for immoral purposes or of a child for prostitution
Former 18.1-38
Former 18.1-39 (2)(3)

18.2-61 Rape

Former 18.1-44

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor between Victim ages 13-14, perpetrator 5 years older than
victim

18.2-67.1 Forcible sodomy

18.2-67.2 Object sexual penetration

18.2-67.3 Aggravated sexual battery

Former 18.1-215 Sexual contact (Victim under 13)

18.2-67.4 Sexual battery where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and the victim is under
the age of 6

18.2-67.5(A)(B) Attempted rape, forcible sodomy, object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery

18.2-370 Taking indecent liberties with minor

Former 18.1-213 (1)(2)(4)
Former 18.1-214
18.2-370.1 Taking indecent liberties with minor by person in custodial or supervisory relationship
18.2-374.1 Production, distribution, financing, etc. of child pornography
OR violation of:
Chapter 117 (18 USC §2421 et seq.) of Title 18 of the United States Code
Or sex trafficking (18 USC §1591)

OR a second or subsequent conviction, where the offender was at liberty between such convictions, for violation
or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim ages 13-14)

18.2-64.1 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim 15 and older) supervisory relationship
18.2-67.2:1 Marital sexual assault (Statute repealed 2005)

18.2-90 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to rape

OR a second or subsequent conviction, where the individual was at liberty between such convictions and where
the victim is a minor or physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as defined in Code of Virginia §18.2-
67.10, for violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-47(A) Abduction

18.2-48(i) Abduction with the intent to extort money or pecuniary benefit
18.2-67.4 Sexual battery

18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery

18.2-361 Crimes against nature (Sodomy)
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18.2-366 Adultery and fornication by person forbidden to marry; incest
18.2-374.1:1(C) Possess child pornography

OR if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, and if the offender has been convicted or adjudicated
delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided that offender had been at liberty between such convictions
or adjudications

18.2-91 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to commit any felony offense listed in 9.1-902
Offenses Requiring Annual Re-Registration:

Sexual Offense - a violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-31/18.2-32 Murder (Victim is under 15) or (Victim is 15-17 and murder is related to an offense
under 9.1-902)

Former 18.1-21

18.2-63 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim ages 13-14), if perpetrator is less than 5 years older
than victim

18.2-64.1 Carnal knowledge of minor (Victim 15 and older), supervisory relationship

18.2-67.2:1 Marital sexual assault (Statute repealed 2005)

18.2-346 Solicitation of prostitution from a minor (Felony violation)

18.2-348 Aiding prostitution or illicit sexual intercourse, etc. by a minor (Felony violation after
July 1, 2019)

18.2-349 Using vehicles to promote prostitution or unlawful sexual intercourse by a minor
(Felony violation after July 1, 2019)

18.2-355(4) Taking, detaining a minor for prostitution

18.2-356 Receiving money for procuring person (Victim under 18)

18.2-357 Receiving money from earnings of prostitute (Victim under 18)

18.2-357.1(C) Commercial sex trafficking

18.2-51.2 Aggravated malicious wounding (where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and
victim is under 13)

18.2-67.4 Sexual battery (three or more convictions)

18.2-67.4:2 Sexual abuse of a child under 15 (three or more convictions)

18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery (three or more convictions)

18.2-90 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to rape

Former 18.1-88

18.2-370.6 Penetration of the mouth of a child with lascivious intent

18.2-374.1.1(B, C, D) Possession of child pornography
Former 18.2-374.1:1(D) Possession of child pornography (as it was in effect 7/1/94-6/30/07)
18.2-386.1 Unlawful filming, videotaping or photographing of another (three or more convictions)

18.2-374.3(B, C, D)  Use of communication systems to solicit a minor to violate 18.2-370, Indecent liberties
with a minor

Former 18.2-374.3(B)(iv) Use of communication systems to solicit a minor to violate 18.2-370, Indecent
liberties with a minor (as it was in effect 6/30/07)

18.2-67.5:1 Third misdemeanor sexual offense, Felony

OR if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, violation or attempted violation of Code of Virginia,
Sections:

18.2-91 Enter dwelling house etc. with intent to commit any felony offense listed in §9.1-902
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18.2-374.1:1(A) Possession of child pornography
18.2-67.5:1 Third misdemeanor sexual offense, Felony

OR where the victim is a minor or physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as defined in Code of Virginia
§18.2-67.10, violation or attempted violation Code of Virginia, Sections:

18.2-47(A) Abduction

18.2-48(i) Abduction with the intent to extort money or pecuniary benefit
18.2-67.4 Sexual battery

18.2-67.5(C) Attempted sexual battery

18.2-361 Crimes against nature (Sodomy)

18.2-366 Adultery and fornication by person forbidden to marry; incest

Former 18.1-191

OR any criminal homicide in conjunction with (when the offenses arise out of the same incident) a violation of
18.2-371 (i) Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
18.2-371.1 Abuse and neglect of children

OR any offense similar to those listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 of §9.1-902 under the laws of any foreign
country or any political subdivision thereof, the United States or any political subdivision thereof.

OR any offense for which registration in a Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry is required under
the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted.
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PURPOSE

This operating procedure provides guidance for Department of Corrections compliance with the Code of Virginia
§9.1-900 et seq., Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act.

PROCEDURE

L Potential Registration While Incarcerated

A. Facilities should contact the Virginia State Police (VSP) to obtain the most current Sex Offender and
Crimes Against Minors Registration Form (SP-236).

B.

Facility Intake Registration Investigation

1.

Reception staff must research each offender’s conviction history on intake to the DOC, including out-
of-state offenders serving Virginia sentences. If the offender has been convicted of an offense that
potentially requires registration, complete the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registration
Form (SP-236) (using the correctional facility address), providing fingerprints (only thumbprints are
required if Virginia State Police database shows fingerprints are on file), palm prints (if Virginia State
Police database does not show palm prints are on file), and a photograph.

. Refusal to complete SP-236 form

a. If an offender refuses to comply with any aspect of registration after being informed of their
potential responsibility to register with the Virginia State Police and of the penalty for failing to do
so0, corrections staff must enter required information.

b. On the "signature of person registering” line, staff will write "refused to sign" and enter the
signature of staff person completing the form.

c. Staff will distribute as indicated below for completed registration forms.
d. Upon confirmation from the Virginia State Police that the offender is required to register:

1. Staff must charge the offender with Offense Code 119d, Refusal to participate in required sex
offender/crimes against minors registration (Mandatory Penalty - 90 Days Loss of Accumulated
Good Time); see Operating Procedure 861.1, Offender Discipline, Institutions.

ii. The offender must be placed in a Class Level earning no good time until such time as the
offender complies with registration requirements; see Operating Procedure 830.2, Good Time
Awards.

Upon completion of the SP-236:

a. The Facility Unit Head will designate facility staff responsible to enter the date of the completion
of the SP-236 form in VACORIS.

b. The Department of Corrections’ copy will be uploaded in VACORIS.

The offender will be given the offender copy.

o

d. The Virginia State Police copy of the form, the fingerprint card, and photograph (digital) must be
mailed to the Virginia State Police for further investigation.

Once the VSP receives the initial registration (SP-236 form), the VSP will evaluate the registration to
determine if the offender meets the registry requirement and the classification level associated with
the registration.

After evaluation, the VSP will send a letter to the facility with a copy for the offender listing the
offender’s registry requirement and the classification level associated with the registration. The
facility copy will be uploaded in VACORIS.

Offenders are not required to re-register while incarcerated until ready to discharge.

7. Offenders who have a legal name change are required to re-register under the new name. A copy of

the court order must be submitted with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registration Form
(SP-236).
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C. Facility Pre-Release Registration

1. The Facility Records Manager will notify designated staff of pending discharges of offenders
convicted of a crime that requires registration.

2. Prior to an offender’s release from incarceration, designated facility staff will review VACORIS to
determine if the Virginia State Police has provided a Registry requirement letter.

3. For offenders that have a registration on file with the Virginia State Police, ten days prior to the
offender’s release, designated facility staff will assist the offender in completing the SP-236 form
using the Home Plan address and employment.

4. For offenders that are potentially required to register, but there is no letter on file from the Virginia
State Police listing the offender’s registry requirement and the classification level associated with the
registration; a Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registration Form (SP-236) must be
completed and submitted in accordance with the Facility Intake Registration Investigation section of
this operating procedure.

5. Refusal to register

a. If the offender refuses to comply with any aspect of registration after being informed of their
responsibility to register with the Virginia State Police, and of the penalty for failing to do so,
corrections staff will enter required information.

b. On the "signature of person registering" line, staff must write, "Refused to sign” and enter the
signature of staff person completing the form.

c. Staff will distribute the form as indicated above for completed registration forms.

d. Staff must advise the offender that they are required to register within three days of release from a
facility, or be subject to criminal prosecution.

e. The Virginia State Police must be informed in writing of this offender's release and of the offender's
refusal to register. The Virginia State Police can be contacted at the following addresses:

Virginia Department of State Police
P. O. Box 27472
Richmond, VA 23261-7472

Sex.Offender.Notification@vsp.virginia.gov

II.  Offender Responsibility to Re-Register

A. Every person required to register must register in person within three days of their release from
confinement in a state correctional facility. The local law-enforcement agency will obtain from the person
who appears for registration or re-registration one set of fingerprints, electronic mail address information,
any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity information that the person
uses or intends to use, one set of palm prints, place of employment information, motor vehicle, watercraft
and aircraft registration, information for all motor vehicles, watercraft and aircraft owned by the registrant,
proof of residency, and a photograph of a type and kind specified by the State Police for inclusion in the
Registry and advise the person of their duties regarding re-registration.

B. Offenders must be advised of the requirement to re-register within three days after any change in name;
address; employment; motor vehicle, watercraft, and aircraft registration; or any new convictions and to
re-register within 30 minutes after any change in electronic mail or internet identification; see COV §9.1-
903, Registration procedures.

C. Offenders registering due to a Sex Offense as defined in this operating procedure will be required to re-
register until the duty to register and re-register is terminated by a Court order as set forth in COV §9.1-
910, Removal of name and information from Registry.

D. Per COV §9.1-908, Duration of registration requirement, any failure to re-register will cause the offender
to need to re-register more frequently and extend the period during which re-registration is required.
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III.  Registration under Community Supervision

A. Initial Registration

1.

Only offenders receiving suspended sentences and offenders transferring from out-of-state with
requirements to register in their previous state or convictions that would require registration in Virginia
including Federal sex offenses should need initial registration while under supervision.

2. Initial registration including Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registration Form (SP-236),

fingerprints, palm prints, photograph, and DNA sample should be conducted at the local law
enforcement agency or State Police within three days of the offender being sentenced or establishing
residence in Virginia.

B. Re-Registration

1.

The registrant offender must report to the local law enforcement agency or State Police for re-
registration in accordance with the schedule above.

2. The P&P Officer or Community Corrections Alternative Program staff are required to submit to the

Virginia State Police a Change of Address by Registered Sex Offender (SP-237) 735 F11 forthwith
upon becoming aware of a registrant’s change in name, residence, employment, or school. The P&P
Officer must notify the State Police forthwith upon learning of any change in electronic mail or internet
identification of any probationer or parolee required to register.

3. The P&P Officer must physically verify the information on any registrant under supervision including

persons on conditional release from a state civil commitment program for sexually violent predators.
State Police will handle verification for non-DOC cases in the community. Information to be verified
includes:

a. Residence and any changes
b. Employer and any changes
c. School and any changes

4. Physical Verification includes professionally discreet and confidential efforts to determine the truth

and accuracy of the Registry information which must be documented and may include one or more of
the following:

a. Written documentation of residence, employment, or school and a personal visit with the registrant
at the location

b. Written documentation of residence, employment, or school corroborated by a credible third party
c. Personal visit to the location with the registrant
d. Personal visit to the location with the reported information corroborated by a credible third party

5. Each case must be verified within 30 days of the official Registry change and every 180 days thereafter.

6. The P&P Officer must document completed verification in the Sex Offender Verification System.

7. Physical Verification when the registrant’s work or school is out-of-District or out-of-state.

a. The supervising P&P District in which the registrant resides has primary verification responsibility.
Other P&P Districts should assist swiftly as needed.
b. The registrant must advise if they wish to relocate and register upon arrival in the receiving P&P
District or State.
i. They must register 10 days prior to relocating Out-of-State.
ii. The receiving P&P District handles verification and the other State will follow up according to
its requirements.

REFERENCES
COV §9.1-900 et seq., Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act
COV §9.1-903, Registration procedures
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COV §9.1-908, Duration of registration requirement

COV §9.1-910, Removal of name and information from Registry
Operating Procedure 830.2, Good Time Awards

Operating Procedure 861.1, Offender Discipline, Institutions

ATTACHMENTS
None
FORM CITATIONS

Change of Address by Registered Sex Offender (SP-237) 735 F11
Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registration Form (SP-236)
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